Society of Surgical Chairs
Membership Directory

Leadership and Staff


Sandra Lynn Wong, MD, MS, FACS
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Lebanon, NH

Gerard Michael Doherty, MD FACS
Vice President
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA

Janet E. (Betsy) Tuttle, MD FACS
Brody School of Medicine, East Carolina University
Greenville, NC

Mary Therese Hawn, MD FACS
Councilperson at Large
Stanford University School of Medicine
Palo Alto, CA

Past Presidents

Robert Samuel Decosta Higgins, MD MSHA FACS
President 2020
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Todd K. Rosengart, MD FACS
President 2019
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Kelly M. McMasters, MD FACS
President 2018
University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, KY

Diana Lee Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS
President 2017
University of California-Davis School of Medicine
Sacramento, CA

Jeffrey Banks Matthews, MD FACS
President 2016
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Kenneth Craig Kent, MD FACS
President 2015
University of Wisconsin Madison School of Medicine
Madison, WI

Steven Charles Stain, MD FACS
President 2014
Albany Medical College
Albany, NY

Barbara Lee Bass, MD FACS
President 2013
Methodist Hosptial
Houston, TX

E. Christopher Ellison, MD FACS
President 2012
Wexner Medical Center at the Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Fabrizio Michelassi, MD FACS
President 2011
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY

Julie Ann Freischlag, MD FACS
President 2010
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD


Anthony Andrew Meyer, MD PhD FRCS FACS
President 2009
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD FACS FRCSI(Hon) FRCSEd(Hon) FWACS(Hon)
President 2008
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Layton F. Rikkers, MD FACS
President 2007
University of Wisconsin Madison School of Medicine
Madison, WI

Andrew L. Warshaw, MD FACS
President 2006
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

L.D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FCCM, FRCSEng, FACS
President 2005
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Norfolk, VA

Timothy J. Eberlein, MD FACS
President 2004
Washington University School of Medicine
Saint Louis, MO

Lazar J. Greenfield, MD
President 2003
University of Michigan Hospitals
Ann Arbor, MI

Kirby I. Bland, MD FACS
President 2002
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL

Josef E. Fischer, MD FACS
President 2001
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH

Michael J. Zinner, MD FACS
President 2000
Brigham & Women's Hospital
Boston, MA


Hanna Lakew
SSC Administrator
American College of Surgeons
633 North Saint Clair Street
Chicago, IL 60611

Phone: 312-202-5447